New Writers Award

GLCA Announces 2023 Winners of the
New Writers Award

The Great Lakes Colleges Association is pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 GLCA New Writers Award

Now entering its 54th year, the New Writers Award confers recognition on promising writers who have published a first volume in one of the three genres:  Poetry, Fiction, and Creative Non-fiction.  Judges of the New Writers Award are faculty members of creative writing and literature at GLCA’s member colleges.  

We extend our warmest congratulations to the 2023 Award Winners:  

Poetry:  James Fujinami Mooreindecent hours, published by Four Way Books. 

Fiction:  Tsering Yangzom Lama, We Measure the Earth with Our Bodies published by Bloomsbury Publishing. 

Creative Non-Fiction:  Lars HornVoice of the Fish:  A Lyric Essay, published by Graywolf Press.


About the New Writers Award

The GLCA New Writers Award was founded in 1970 as a program to enrich the environment of literary creativity and expression for students and faculty members of GLCA member colleges. The program focuses on writers, typically in early stages of a literary career, who have published a first volume in fiction, poetry, or creative non-fiction.

Judges of the award are faculty members of creative writing and literature at GLCA’s 13 member colleges. Each year the winning writers in the three categories receive invitations to visit several GLCA colleges, where they give readings, meet with students and faculty, sign books, and often visit a creative writing class.

Full list of all New Writers Award winners from 1970 to the present

The 2022 winning writers are currently touring campuses. 

Publishers interested in finding out more about this award can contact Colleen Monahan Smith ([email protected]), via email (preferred) or at 734.661.2336.  

Please check back in February of 2023 for guidelines on nominations for the 2024 award